The Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, brought to you by Gran Turismo, welcomed drivers from around the globe to Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain for the 102nd Running of the iconic Race to the Clouds. Race Day dawned with bright sunshine and not a cloud in the sky, and that trend continued throughout the day. One record was broken, and two others were established.

Spain’s Dani Sordo, a WRC champion clocked the fastest time in the Exhibition division setting the benchmark Electric Modified SUV/Crossover record in the Hyundai IONIQ 5 N TA Spec in 09:30.852. Hyundai established a second electric vehicle record for an Electric Production SUV/Crossover of 10:49.267, with Ron Zaras behind the wheel. PPIHC veteran, Randy Pobst, rounded out the trio of Hyundai drivers who brought an impressive effort to Pikes Peak with his time of 09:55.551.

Colorado’s Gardner Nichols beat the Electric Production Truck record he established in 2023. Racing his 2024 Rivian R1T, Nichols shaved 30 seconds off the record with his new clocking of 10:53.883.



In the inaugural year of the exciting new GT4 division, Laura Hayes bested all drivers in her Toyota Supra GT4, taking top honors in the Turbo-designation class. Her impressive time of 10:20.487, a personal best, makes her the fastest woman ever to race a car to the 14,115′ summit. Only Germany’s Lucy Glöckner, who raced a motorcycle in 2019 with her jaw-dropping sub-10 minute time of 09:58.878, has made a faster run.


Normally Aspirated

Competitors in two other manufacturer-endorsed efforts, Ford and Porsche, competed in the normally aspirated class. Nuno Caetano, representing Portugal, came out on top in his Porsche 718 GT4 RS Clubsport with a winning time of 10:23.034, his best time on Pikes PeakRobb Holland and Chris Becker, both Colorado drivers, took second and third, respectively.


It was all Porsche in the Time Attack 1 division. Clocking his fifth sub-10-minute run, a 09:49.429, David Donohue, clinched the division win. Donohue also claimed the Bergmeister Award, given by Porsche Colorado Springs and Fred Veitch, for the fastest Porsche in the entire field.

Kathryn Mead returned for her fifth year on the mountain clocking a new personal best in her #50 Porsche Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport, 10:37.010.

In third place, Jerome France of Romania, a rookie on Pikes Peak, brought in a time of 10:44.501 driving his 2011 Porsche 997 GT3 RS.


The mountain was not kind to racers in the Open Wheel division. By the end of Race Day, four Open Wheel contenders, including past champion and division recordholder, Codie Vahsholtz, would be sidelined with mechanical issues. As the saying goes, “The mountain decides.” Cole Powelson, was forced to change vehicles just days before the race, and the move paid off as he finished fourth overall, and won the division in his 2021 Sierra Alpha in 09:33.222, his best time ever.

Rodney O’Maley stepped up to accept the second place trophy in his 2018 O’Maley Special Spec VIII. Yuri Kouznetsov finished third in his 2014 Apexocet, just four seconds behind O’Maley.

Italy’s Christian Merli clocked a 09:04.454 in his 2024 Wolf Aurobay GB08 2.0 HP, the second fastest time of the day overall, and the winning time in the Unlimited division. Merli was also awarded Rookie of the Year for his amazing accomplishment on America’s Mountain.

Don Wickstrum is now the undisputed “Fastest Pastor” beating the best time recorded by former PPIHC competitor, also a pastor, Layne Schranz. Wickstrum clocked a 09:40.512, finishing in the top five overall.

Third place went to the UK’s Duncan Cowper who, in a nod to Wickstrum, bills himself as “The Fastest Plasterer.” This was Cowper’s second consecutive third place result.


France’s Romain Dumas, now a 5-time King of the Mountain, mastered the 156 turns in the Ford Performance all-electric entry, a 2024 Ford F-150 Lightning SuperTruck. His division win, and King of the Mountain crown were both awarded for his top finish time of 08:53.553.

Claiming second in the division, from Georgetown, Colorado, Jimmy Ford in a 2017 Ford Mustang owned by former PPIHC Stock Car division winner, Joel Newcomer. Ford qualified in the Fast 15, and on race day, clocked a sub-10-minute time.

In a remarkable third place finish, rookie Ethan Hunter of Colorado Springs, a late add from the waitlist on May 21, finished in 10:47.501 in his 2013 Port City Stock Car.

If you missed any of the action, revisit the 2024 Race to the Clouds on Pikes Peak Live, presented by Mobil 1.
Grab your Official PPIHC Merchandise to commemorate the 102nd Running!