Pikes Peak Hill Climb Hall of Fame Nominations Close December 31

As the year draws to a close there is still time to submit a nomination for the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame. Anyone who shares a passion for speed and competition, in addition to a great respect for Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain, is eligible for a Hall of Fame nomination including competitors, organizers, race officials, members of the press and volunteers.
Thirty exceptional individuals have been inducted to the Hall of Fame from top names in auto racing, including Unser, Millen, Tajima, and Zwart to highly successful local competitors such as Vahsholtz, Donner, Schranz, and Durelle. Every member has been chosen for their outstanding contribution to this iconic race. The 2020 inductees included individuals representing many aspects of the sport.
Al Unser – Auto Racing Legend and Pikes Peak Champion
Carlin Dunne – Motorcycle Champion and Inspiring Mentor
Art Walsh – 40-year Finish Line Flagman and Volunteer
Stanley DeGeer – Race Historian and Author
William J. Hybl – Visionary Community Leader and Benefactor
The 2022 inductees will be celebrated during Race Week leading up to the 100th Running of the Race to the Clouds on June 26, 2022.
The Hall of Fame is located upstairs in the Penrose Heritage Museum at 11 Lake Circle in Colorado Springs. Admission to the museum is free.
Hall of Fame Members:
  • Joshua J. “JC” Agajanian
  • Sonny Anderson
  • Bill Brokaw
  • Stanley DeGeer
  • The Donner Family
  • Robert Donner, Sr.
  • David Donner
  • Robert “Bob” Donner, Jr.
  • Robert “Bobby” Donner, III
  • Carlin Dunne
  • Davey Durelle
  • William J. Hybl
  • Rodney K. “Rod” Millen
  • Spencer “Speck” Penrose
  • Frank and Kaye Peterson
  • James J. “Jim” Reilly
  • Alfred C. “Al” Rogers
  • Nicholas J. “Nick” Sanborn, Jr.
  • Randy Schranz
  • Glen Shultz
  • Nobuhiro “Monster” Tajima
  • Charles L. “Charley” Tutt, IV
  • William Thayer Tutt
  • Al Unser
  • Louis “Uncle Louie” Unser, Jr.
  • Robert W. “Bobby” Unser
  • Leonard and Barb Vahsholtz
  • Art Walsh
  • Jeff Zwart
First staged in 1916, the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb is the second oldest race in America. The invitation-only event, often referred to as The Race to the Clouds is held annually on the last Sunday of June on Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain, near Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA. The famous 12.42-mile course consists of 156 turns, boasts an elevation gain of 4,725 feet, and reaches a finish line at 14,115 feet above sea level. The PPIHC’s automobile categories feature a wide variety of vehicles representing multiple forms of motorsport; everything from production-based Time Attack challengers to purpose-built Open Wheel racers and state-of-the-art Unlimited vehicles take on America’s Mountain pursuing victory. The 100th Running of this iconic motorsport event will take place in 2022.
Lisa Haight
Event Coordinator / Media / Historian