The Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame is pleased to announce four outstanding inductees for 2024, Ari Vatanen, Beck Bechtelheimer, Clint Vahsholtz and Ted Foltz.

Founded in 1997, the PPIHC Hall of Fame is committed to honoring and preserving the achievements of individuals and/or organizations who have left an indelible mark on the Race to the Clouds – whether they are competitors, organizers, officials, members of the press or volunteers. Anyone who shares a passion for speed and competition, in addition to a great respect for Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain, and plays a role as an ambassador for this famous race is eligible for a Hall of Fame nomination. A new group of inductees is welcomed every other year.

“The level of achievement, knowledge and enthusiasm accumulated in this year’s inductees is incredible,” shared Lisa Haight, PPIHC Historian. “The depth of experience in this group spans decades, and we’re pleased to shine the spotlight on these very deserving individuals as we welcome them to the Hall of Fame.”

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on June 20th in Colorado Springs.


Beck Bechtelheimer

Often referred simply as Beck, everyone knows the name, from drivers, to race fans, to the broader racing community. Bechtelheimer’s voice is known far and wide for his behind the microphone announcing and interviewing prowess. He called the action at tracks throughout Colorado for 49 years, and for many years was a fixture on the KRDO race day radio broadcast where he described the action in detail, with enthusiasm and by tapping into his unmatched insight into what was going on behind the wheel.

Ted Foltz

A local racing hero to many, Ted Foltz, was a two-time King of the Mountain, capturing his crowns in 1970, and repeating in 1980. Foltz was a second generation racer on the mountain, along with his brother, Dick. A third generation of motorcycle racers eagerly followed in their footsteps.

Foltz first entered the Open Wheel division in 1954 and raced sprint cars and open wheelers, including a Wells Coyote, through 1989. In the late 1970s, Foltz ventured into the Stock Car division in his Chevrolet Camaro.

Foltz was dedicated to preserving the heritage of the Race to the Clouds and worked diligently to help build the original Race Car Museum in Manitou Springs in 1989. His knowledge in sourcing and preparing exhibits for the museum along with his countless volunteer hours was invaluable.

Clint Vahsholtz

The Vahsholtz name garners immediate respect on Pikes Peak, and for good reason. Patriarch, Leonard Vahsholtz carved his name into the PPIHC record books with his success on Pikes Peak from 1977 to 2008. Clint now joins his parents, Leonard and Barb Vahsholtz, as a Hall of Famer.

Clint, began making a name for himself in 1992 racing in the Motorcycle Open Pro division winning three times in 4 years and setting two division records. From 1996 through 2012, Clint raced in the Super Stock Car division notching 16 division wins and two division records. The father and son duo raced and won on Pikes Peak for years. In 2013 Clint moved to the Open Wheel division continuing his winning ways and was crowned King of the Mountain in 2020. No one has earned more division wins on Pikes Peak – Clint has collected 24 – making him the winningest driver in PPIHC history. Now, third generation Codie Vahsholtz is proving himself on the same mountain that built his family’s legacy.

Ari Vatanen

Often asked by fans to strike the iconic pose of one hand shielding eyes from the sun and the other steering the powerful Peugeot, Finland’s Ari Vatanen is a motorsports legend. The 1988 art film, Climb Dance, immortalized Vatanen and allowed fans a glimpse of what it takes to conquer Pikes Peak.

The World Rally Champion took the mountain by storm in 1988 by winning the Rally Open division and setting an overall course record to become King of the Mountain. Since the release of the film, viewers worldwide have come to know the excitement, sights and sounds of racing on Pikes Peak, and Vatanen has become an ambassador for the race he loves. He has been recognized in the FIA Hall of Fame and the Rally Hall of Fame. He has also authored an autobiography titled, Every Second Counts.

FacebookShare to Facebook
XShare to X
LinkedInShare to LinkedIn
EmailShare This Story

First staged in 1916, the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb is the second oldest race in America. The invitation-only event, often referred to as The Race to the Clouds is held annually near the end of June on Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain, near Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA. The famous 12.42-mile (20 km) course consists of 156 turns, boasts an elevation gain of 4,725 feet (1,440 m), and reaches a finish line at 14,115 feet (4,302 m) above sea level. The PPIHC’s six race divisions feature a wide variety of vehicles – from production-based Time Attack challengers to purpose-built Open Wheel racers and state-of-the-art Unlimited vehicles. The current race record was set in 2018 by Romain Dumas and Volkswagen in the all-electric I.D. R Pikes Peak – 07:57.148.